Interview with Erica Schultz - Charmed #1

INTERVIEW

--------

Kostas: Hello, Erica! Congratulations on the launch of the new Charmed comic book series. Everyone seems to like #1!

Erica: Thank you so much! I really appreciate the support from the fans. I’m very excited to the see the book in stores.

 

Kostas: You are writing Charmed for the first time so for readers who are now getting to know you and your writing, can you tell us about how you started writing, and more specifically writing comics, and some of the books you’ve written?

Erica: I always wrote and drew growing up, and I studied Literature in college, but I started writing comics in 2009 with my first creator-owned book, M3. Vicente Alcázar is the artist on the 12 issue series. I had read comics growing up, and loved the medium, so when I was working as an animator on the Astonishing X-Men motion comics “Gifted”, I got into the behind the scenes of making comics. I ended up taking a story that I had jotted down about an assassin named Machiavella Maria Marcona, and turned her into the comic character, M3.

Aside from M3, I’ve written Revenge for Marvel, based on the ABC TV series of the same name. I was also part of the DC Talent Development Workshop and had the opportunity to write a story starring Hawkgirl drawn by Sonny Liew. I was part of the all female writing team chosen by Gail Simone to write for Dynamite’s crossover series, Swords of Sorrow. I have stories in anthologies like Vertigo SFX #1, The 27 Club, and RISE: Comics Against Bullying, along with the upcoming anthologies #ENDTHESTIGMA: A Mental Health Anthology and This Nightmare Kills Fascists.

 

Kostas: How were you chosen to be the writer for the series?

Erica: I was very lucky to have had a relationship with Dynamite from my work on Swords of Sorrow. I had reached out to the editors there, always seeing if a property that would fit with me was coming to them. When Charmed became available, I was asked if that was something I’d like to write. I immediately jumped at the opportunity.

 

Kostas: You’ve mentioned that you are a big fan of the TV Show. What drew you in and what are some of your favorite memories watching it?

Erica: I was a fan of Charmed when it ran on TV. I’m excited that it’s on Netflix now. What I enjoyed most about the show is what I tried to get into the script; a sense of fun, adventure, action, and heart. Because the show revolves around these otherworldly characters and situations, the relationship between the sisters is so important to keep the story grounded and believable. There was humor, heartfelt moments, romance, and escapades. If I had to pick a favorite episode, I’d say Witch’s Tail where Phoebe turns into a mermaid.

 

Kostas: I thought the feel of the show and the already established characters’ voices sounded spot on. What did you do to prepare to write the comic?

Erica: Thanks very much! I really went for a comic that could be plucked from the show.

My only real preparation was to re-watch several episodes to make sure that I had the characterizations right. That was the fun part!

 

Kostas: The comic is taking place during the events of the show. Was this a decision you took or a direction CBS gave you?

Erica: Honestly, I don’t even remember what the rules were other than that I can’t use Prue Halliwell. Aside from that, I was pretty much given free reign.

 

Kostas: Is it hard trying to fit the events of the comic in the middle of the canon the show has set? Do you find it limiting and how do you deal with making your content and stories match what is already there?

Erica: I don’t mind trying to make the story fit because I don’t think it has to be a perfect fit. We fudged the timeline a hair between seasons 4 and 5, Paige having a charge, Phoebe at the paper, but Piper not pregnant yet. My concern wasn’t so much that it was 100% in line with specific events of the show, but that it was a fun story that people would enjoy and would look at as another adventure The Charmed Ones had.

 

Kostas: It is always interesting to know the process that happens “behind the pages”. What are your steps as a writer of a comic book from the initial idea to having a complete page?

Erica: Writing creator owned work is a bit different from licensed work, but my process is mostly the same. I write a paragraph or two of the whole story arc. Then I break each issue into a paragraph. Then each issue gets broken into an outline. Then each outline gets fleshed out into which page has which actions. Then each page gets fleshed out into panels and dialogue.

 

Kostas: Maria Sanapo’s interiors and the colors by Haerwork Studios are beautiful! How much are you “directing” the art whether that means the look of a new demon or character or location?

Erica: I’m not directing the look at all, Maria and Haertwork Studios are bring all that on their own, and they’re doing a phenomenal job! The likenesses of the actresses to the characters are wonderful, and the colors just pop, especially when Paige and Leo orb.

 

Kostas: Since the comic was announced and the first information about it appeared, everyone went into speculation mode especially about when it is set. With the first issue out the debate is still going. “Phoebe has her column, that means Season 4…”, “There is no mention of Cole…”, “but Paige has a charge so that means at least Season 5” etc. Do you have a definite answer on the timeline or do you want fans to discover the specifics as the issues go by?

Erica: I’ll admit that the timeline was fudged a bit. We are in season 4 with aspects of season 5. So Paige has a charge, Shaina, and Phoebe has more responsibilities at the paper, like in season 5, but Piper isn’t pregnant yet, like in season 4. We took creative liberties that we hope the fans will forgive us for.

 

Kostas: The interaction and bond between the sisters is always something fans can’t get enough of. And #1 surely delivers in that aspect with the scene in the kitchen, for example. How important is it for you to have such moments between the sisters?

Erica: One of the hallmarks of Charmed is the relationship between these sisters. I don’t think the series could survive any other way. The love and bond between these characters is so important, not only to the comic, but to the story. It grounds each one of these characters, and shows a human side of them. They’re flawed, but they care so much for each other. That was paramount to get into this story.

 

Kostas: Art and paintings are a big plot point in the story. How did you come up with the idea to use art as a way for Demons to invade the human world?

Erica: Many years ago, when I was still a young, single gal living in New York City, not unlike Phoebe, I had several friends who were artists who would show in galleries. I wouldn’t say I was “part of the scene,” but I did attend more than my fair share of showings, and I got to witness the interactions between dealers, agents, talent, and patrons. I thought I’d bring some of that experience to this story.

 

Kostas: What can you tease from the second issue? I hear there is a big gallery attack coming.

Erica: In issue 2 we learn more about Djall, Paige’s friend, Gabe, and we meet Paige’s charge, Shaina. The sisters get to kick some more ass, and the plot thickens!

 

Kostas: When Elise joined the Bay Mirror, they were still doing paste ups in the dark room but this is the era of social media. Where can people find you online?

Erica: I can be found on Twitter at @EricaSchultz42 and my website EricaSchultzWrites.com.

 

Kostas: Finally, is there anything you would like to add for the fans reading this?

Erica: We really appreciate the support for Charmed and hope the fans enjoy this take on the Halliwells.

 

Kostas: Thank you very much, Erica!

Erica: Thank you so much!